South Sudan

At A Glance

Official Name: Republic of South Sudan

Independence Day: 9 July 2011

Capital City: Juba

Time Zone: East African Time (GMT+3)

Official Language: English

Currency: South Sudan Pound (SSDG)

Population: 8,260,490 (2008 census)

Diplomatic Community:

Republic of Sudan, Republic of Turkey, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, Republic of Uganda, Republic of Kenya, Federal Republic of India, The Arab Republic of Egypt, The State of Eritrea, Republic of South Africa, The Royal Kingdom of Norway, United States of America, United Kingdom of Great Britain, The Peoples Republic of China, France, Zimbabwe, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Democratic Republic of Congo, Libya, Kingdom of the Netherlands, The Federal Republic of Germany, The Delegation of the European Union, African Union.

RSS Missions Abroad:

Sudan, Egypt, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Zimbabwe, Nigeria, South Africa, Norway, Belgium, United Kingdom, United States of America, Turkey, India, Switzerland,Germany , France, Russia, New York, Peoples Republic of China
Multilateral and Inter- Governmental Representative offices include the League of Arab Nations Office, Joint Donors Team Office, Japan International Cooperation Agency, World Bank, and Swiss Cooperation Office Juba, Italian Cooperation

The Republic of South Sudan has ten states. They include Central Equatoria (Juba), Western Equatoria (Yambio), Eastern Equatoria, (Torit), Jonglei (Bor), Unity (Bentiu), Upper Nile (Malakal), Lakes (Rumbek), Warrap (Kuacjok), Western Bahr el Ghazal (Wau), and Northern Bahr el Ghazal (Aweil).

Political Parties:

Sudan People Liberation Movement (SPLM), National Congress Party (NCP), Sudan People’s Liberation Movement – Democratic Change (SPLM-DC), Sudan African National Union (SANU), United Democratic Front (UDF), Union of Sudan African Parties (USAP 1), Union of Sudan African Parties (USAP 2), South Sudan Democratic Front (SSDF), and United Democratic Salvation Front (UDSF).

Source: Government of the Republic of South Sudan